Great Nemunas loop by bike
In the village of Puzonii, it is suggested to take a look around the homestead yard of Rimantė Butkuvė, a folk artist and carver of angels.
The village of Matiesioni is famous for being the birthplace of the linguist Professor Jonas Kazlauskas.
The gravel road leads through the forests of Naudžiūnai and Siponi, where there are plenty of mushrooms and berries, and picturesque landscapes open up to the Prienai sila and the Nemunas. In Sipony, you can visit the remains of the Sipony Manor. The manor, the story of whose revival is being written today, was located on the Nemunas River more than four centuries ago. The exact date of establishment of Siponii manor is not recorded in historical sources. However, based on LVA data, we can say that the first owners of the Siponii manor, the Sipavičiai, from whose surname the manor derives its name, settled in Siponis in the 16th century. at the end The history of the Siponii manor is associated with the surnames of many rich and respectable landowners who lived in this region: Juchneviči, Stognevai, Praneviči, Jurkeviči, Mikolajeviči, Counts Butler, Agnieška Jckovna. By the way, Agnieszka Jackovna's patronymic is associated with the origin of the place name Jackonii, as well as Agnieszka's origin from the Siponi region. A significant historical fact testifies that in 1812 at the end of June, the chief of staff of Napoleon's army, Marshal Louis Alexandre Berthier, stood in the mansion. From the 17th century In the beginning, an active, but very changeable life took place in the estate. The frequent change of its owners did not always positively affect the existence of the estate. Therefore, based on the surviving documents, which contain many different contradictions, it is not very clear whether the last owner of the manor, S. Rutkauskas, was the legal owner of the manor or just a tenant. However, the Soviet authorities exiled him and his sister, who died there, to Siberia, and after returning home, he was laid to rest in the Nemajunai cemetery. in 1847 The Siponii manor was statistically described. Detailed data on the manor farm, peasants, and their businesses are provided. It is stated that the manor was located on both sides of the Nemunas. Two streams flowed through its territory - Krakila and Vizdija. The description mentions that the road to Nemaniūnis runs through the manor. The same road is mentioned even in 1929. 255 peasants belonged to the estate. There were two taverns, a wine and smal factory on the territory of the manor. 40 hornbills and 400 sheep were raised on the estate. 1925, 1927 They wanted to change the name of the Siponii manor and call the area Kirkilai village or Jundiliškiau. However, the new name was not confirmed in any case. The Siponii Regional School traces its history back to 1918. also started counting in the estate, where he remained until 1939.
The decoration of the village of Nemajūnai St. Peter and Paul Church. It is the only wooden neo-gothic church in Lithuania, where a unique carpet tied with ribbons of young marts is preserved. A chapel dedicated to the writer Stanislaus Moravski stands in the nearby cemetery. Elijošius Nonevičius-Nonys, the pioneer of veterinary science in Lithuania, is also buried in the cemetery.